Tour of Catskill
8/5-8/7 2011
3 day stage race.
Time Trial
This was an out and back 12 mile stage that was different from the short uphill 3 mile TT in previous years. Monte and I had a similar plan to stay a little under threshold for the quarter and slowly ramping up our output. We were both concerned with going out too hard and running out of gas. The last thing we wanted was to run out of gas before the finish. We got in to town early and rode the course and talked strategy one more time. I was up to start and TT’s are not my favorite, I have yet to do well in one and it is always a little intimidating lining up with guys in full TT attire, bikes, helmets, full disc wheel, etc etc, the list goes on. There I was with my TT bars on my road bike and I did have a shiny new helmet that I had saved up for. I looked at Johnny Bold in front of me and just thought to myself.... well, at least he won’t pass me like last year. The gun went off. I was looking forward to putting in a good time and had a steady rhythm. I felt good, correction, I felt GREAT! My cadence was smooth, speed was high and I was averaging great power numbers. I was flying! After about 5 minutes, I slowed a bit realizing that this was probably going to come back and haunt me. If I kept this up I would be destroying my 20 minute PR. I made the turn around at about 11:00 and noticed I was not to far off from my 30 second man Johnny Bold. Wow! I have been able to hold my gap to a National Cyclocross Masters Champ who was in front of me. At this rate my time would be 24-25 minutes, not bad! After the turnaround there was a little rise, hey this was tough I thought. I lost my rhythm but fought my way over. Then it flattened out. I couldn’t find my smooth cadence, mmm. Things were harder, what was wrong? Speed was going down I didn’t feel like Superman anymore then it hit me, I finally noticed I was doing the first half with a small tailwind breeze, barely noticeable and sometimes that is all you need help push you along and give you a false impression. Anyway, I passed a couple guys and got passed by one too. I figured this was not going to place me in the top part of the field. I went strong but did have to recover a bit for the mistake of going out too hard. I finished the last quarter strong and ended up in the mid 20’s out of the 52. After the TT I talked to racers and it seemed that most made the same mistake that I did. Our leader won with a time which I think would have been good enough for 5th in the Pro field.
Stage 2
“The Assault on Devil’s Kitchen”
Okay, with a name like that you know it is going to be painful.
After getting a good nights rest Monte and I looked for some quick fuel and were happy to find a crafty, eclectic little local joint right down the road. Monte and Funk had eaten there last year and we both agreed that since we were here we might as well check it out. After meeting the friendly owner we ordered breakfast and although it took longer than expected the food finally came and it was delicious. It was more like a breakfast that I would have on vacation. First a small fruit salad and coffee then, fancy fruity pancakes drizzled with oats or granola, with home fries and 3 eggs over on top of the whole pile of food. It was a ton of food but if you put food in front of me I am going to eat it. I never eat that much for breakfast, especially before a race but the food was very good and I gobbled it down.
We rolled to the start line which was right down the road and had small talk with a few guys. We had about a half mile neutral start then we raced. Someone took off immediately, not a threat and the poor guy ended up missing the first turn anyway. I bet he looks at the map before trying that move again. Immediately came a stiff climb to wake up the legs. I watched guys try to get a rhythm and one fellow almost took out Monte. He swore it was Monte’s fault but I assured his overweight ass that he was not riding the straightest line. No harm done. It was just a sign of fatigue as nobody was ready for this.
After we crested the steepest section, our buddy Carl Reglar (former National Champ for Nova Scotia?) started his attempts at getting away. Last year he was a bit unknown, since then he has proven that he can get away from the start with or without company to help and bring home the goods at the end of the day. He rides with power and can muscle out a punishing pace for miles on end. He has pulled this crap long enough to bring every one of his moves to the attention of the whole peleton. He just powers off the front not really a huge kick. Unfortunately for him, all eyes were watching. He knew this but kept popping off the front regardless. Monte courageously joined him for a few miles on one of his attempts. I covered moves and stayed attentive at the front making sure he got a little breathing room. It eventually got brought back. After about 10-15 attempts (I am not kidding) Carl finally sat in. Nobody was giving him an inch. With his aggressive riding the anxious peleton chased and the yellow jersey sat in for the free rides.
With about 30 miles in to the race I think riders started to think about what was coming up. People were taking in fuel, drinking, clamping and tightening down there shoes, zip up jerseys, stretching hamstrings whatever. It got really quiet, everyone knew what was coming. It was the “Kitchen”. With grades of up to 22% and about 3 miles long this climb was going to hurt and everyone knew it would be a game changer. Riders were fighting for every inch as everyone wanted to be at the front for the beginning of the climb. We took a turn and there it was. It was time to suffer! I settled in and it was quickly apparent that I was not leading anyone up the climb but I kept the leaders in sight. I saw Monte “above” me many times and I was glad to see he was feeling a little better from the previous day. It was steep, I pushed and pedaled on, a few passed me and I began to suffer next to a couple guys that were bugging me. They were breathing heavy and just making noises that annoyed me. I was fatigued, I saw the skyline, I thought “There’s the top” I gonna nail it to that point and I did! I reached deep and must have been pushing around 500 watts for about 25 feet and it took a crap load out of me. I got closer, then as I was looking for the top there was a bend in the road all of a sudden, “WHAT THE HELL” I saw Monte with the top riders continuing up the climb of even a steeper section. Son of a bitch! I still another steep pitch and the end was not even in sight.
After my hallucinations of the top it kind of killed my spirit and I was cooked. It was on to damage control and continued up, up and up. I passed a rider walking his bike then another who was just shattered and crying for his mommy. My heart went out to the guy as it is very hard to watch a grown man cramp-up and yell/scream in pain. He tried to get back on his bike but his cramping muscles said “NO, NO, NO” He cried out again. I handed him a couple Endurolytes and threw a gel without slowing down, I couldn’t I would have fallen over because when you are riding at 2 miles an hour you have a lot of time to take in the surroundings.
Finally over the top and on to flatter ground. I looked ahead but couldn’t see anyone and I saw a couple of riders bridging up to me. We worked together just to get home as quick as we could. There were a couple of rollers left and 6 miles to go but the race was up the road. We could see them, a small group of about 12. Monte was tucked in nicely. There was no sense in killing myself trying to catch them. I just wanted to get to the finish line and perhaps take a spot or two. Right before 1 K to go I went up a small rise in the big ring and that was enough for my quad to seize. It tightened into a little ball like I was flexing my muscles but I wasn’t. I had a major problem. Now I was the one crying. I just tried to take it like a man. I didn’t have to get off the bike, I just had to stop pedaling for a while, maybe 30 secs. It finally loosened up but I had to gingerly pedal to the line. It was hard because there was a decent crowd. Spectators were yelling “C’mon give it all you got! Well I did, unfortunately, today it was not enough.
Monte finished up strong, out-sprinted a few and took some time back from competitors. The stage was over and we rode up the street cooled down and showered up. We walked back downtown and watched the rest of the fields come in as we ate lunch on a porch overlooking the finish line. It was great to see a local “kid” and also occasional FJ Clark rider get 1st place for the Pro 1/2 field.
Stage 3
I blew up about 30 miles into the race. SOmetimes you have to just chalk it up as a bad day. Monte did well and got 5th! An update soon.

No comments:
Post a Comment